ommunity & Events

 

St. John’s has a range of social and community events throughout the year.

Parish outings and events for 2019 include:

Ladies Lunch – 12.30pm on the third Monday of odd-numbered months, Toorak Uniting Church café. Please rsvp to the parish office by the Tuesday before enquiries@saintjohnstoorak.org – next lunch, Monday 20 May

Wednesday 6 March, 7pm Ash Wednesday, worship service to mark the beginning of Lent, including Imposition of Ashes

Sunday 17 March, 8am & 10am, GUEST PREACHER – Debra Saffrey-Collins, General Manager, Chaplaincy and Diocesan Partnerships for The Brotherhood of St. Laurence

Saturday 23 March, 9am-12noon, Parish Visit to Bishopscourt

Toorak Ecumenical Lenten Studies “Praying in Lent”
Tuesday 19 March
, 7-8.30pm at St. Peter’s Roman Catholic Church parish Centre, 585 Toorak Road
Tuesday 26 March, 7-8.30pm at The Swedish Church, 21 St Georges Road
Tuesday 2 April, 7-8.30pm at St. John’s Anglican Church, corner of Toorak & Orrong Roads

Thursday 18 April, 7pm Maundy Thursday Worship
Friday 19 April, 10am Good Friday Worship
Friday 19 April, 11.30am Toorak Ecumenical Good Friday Walk
Sunday 21 April, 10am Easter Worship

Sunday 26 May, 8am & 10am, GUEST PREACHER – The Revd Dr Robert (Bob) Derrenbacker, Dean of Trinity College Theological School

Saturday 1 June, Parish Trivia Night (Fundraiser) details TBA

Sunday 28 July, 8am & 10am, GUEST PREACHER – The Reverend Dr J.T. Hollis (Fr Turi), Vicar of Christ Church St. Kilda, representing “The Little St. Kilda Mission” & Community Centre

Sunday 8 September, 8am & 10am, GUEST PREACHER – The Reverend Rob Ferguson, Senior Chaplain Anglicare Criminal Justice Ministry

Sunday 13 October, 4-6pm Blessing of Pets, in the Church Garden

Sunday 20 October, 8am & 10am, GUEST PREACHER – Bron Davis-Jones, Volunteer Manager for The Richmond Churches Food Centre

Tuesday 24 December, 6pm Children’s Pageant and Nativity Service
Tuesday 24 December, 11.30pm Christmas Midnight Mass
Wednesday 25 December 8am & 10am Christmas Day services

Various support groups meet regularly at St. John’s, either in the Hall or in the Church building.
Narcotics Anonymous – weekly Tuesdays, 7.30pm. Website.  Phone 1300 652 820 or 0488 811 247.
Alcoholics Anonymous – weekly Wednesdays, 6.30pm Website. Phone: 1300 AA HOPE (1300 22 4673) or 03 9429 1833
FA – Food Addicts in Recovery Anonymous – weekly Thursdays, 7.00pm Website. 

Grief Support (Mental Health Foundation Australia) – monthly last Tuesday, 12pm Website. Phone 1300 MHF AUS (1300 643 287)

For more information on any of these meetings, please refer to each organisation directly.